healingtreearts

Together We Can Make A Difference!

Leave a comment

LAEEF posterRecently I had the extreme pleasure of participating in the 36th Annual Los Angeles Environmental Education Fair (LAEEF) “Spring Into Green” event. In short, several thousand families, educators, scouting groups and students from all over the Los Angeles area came to network with local environmental community resources to learn about lifestyle solutions that impact the health of our planet through hands-on workshops and in-booth presentations.

In addition to making my environmentally-friendly children’s book, Baby Lauren and Theodore, available for purchase, I also offered a fun and easy “green” activity. I gave each child a green maple leaf that had been fashioned from recycled paper and asked them to write their first name only on the front of the leaf. I then instructed them to briefly write one way in which they would pledge to help their parents, communities and schools by doing a kid-friendly “green” activity. Their leaf was then added to others on a presentation board (pictured). The theme was, “Together We Will Make A Difference”. The children understood that even though they were only one person, if all of us engaged in one behavior that saved the planet, we would make a major, positive impact.

I was impressed by all the children who took the time to visit me; here are some of their creative responses:

“I will continue to pick up trash to save animals.”

“Recycle.”

“I will conserve energy and save water.”

“I will not litter.”

“I will eat less meat and compost food scraps.”

“I will make sure I don’t take nature for granted.”

“I will educate children around me about the importance of recycling.”

“I will plant more trees.”

“I will be an intern as a Green Ambassador.”

“I will reuse items to reduce trash.”

“My family tries to use only glass products.”

“I will create an organization to clean up parks and beaches.”

What would you be willing to do to help the environment? Together we can make a difference.

Note: Earth Day is April 22, 2015

Author Deborah Sherrell may be contacted by email at healingtreearts@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

